History Prizes "Duke d'Arenberg"

The "Duke d'Arenberg History Prizes" are literary awards given every two years since 1992 by the Arenberg Foundation to reward excellence and innovation in exploring Europe’s history, culture, and thought. Works that are original in their approach, have a wide scope, are both readable and scholarly, as well as are accessible to a wide public are eligible for submission.

The Arenberg European History Prize

Worth 4,000 Euros to the winning author, the Arenberg European History Prize is awarded to the best work that sheds new light on Europe’s history. The Prize Committee will look particularly favourably on works relating to the former Seventeen Provinces of the Low Countries, the territories of the Holy Roman Empire of the German Nation (and to the Rhineland and Westphalia in particular), and northern France and that have a comparative approach. The prize is also open to works that use the tools of the historian to inspire debate about Europe’s present and future.

The House of Arenberg History Prize

The House of Arenberg History Prize comes with a cash award of 1,000 Euros and is awarded to the best work that makes use of archival collections relating to the House of Arenberg, in particular those located in Arras, Brussels, Cambrai, Koblenz, Douai, Düsseldorf, Enghien, Louvain, Osnabrück, Paris, Salzburg, and Vienna.


Previous winners:

Dr. Stefaan Grieten, Leuven
Prof. dr. Beatrice De Graaf, Utrecht

Dr. Joost Welten
Dr. Sascha Köhl

Dr. William D. Godsey
Mr. Roel Roegiers and Mr. Daniël De Kimpe

Mr. Patrick Dassen
Dr. Iason Jongepier

Prof. dr. Christopher Clark
Lic. Sander Berghmans

Prof. dr. Emiel Lamberts, KU Leuven 
Dr. Peter Winzen, Parsberg, Oberpfalz 

Dr. Martin Wrede, Giessen 
Lic. Hans Baeté, Gent 

Dr. Thomas Weber, Princeton, NJ 
Dr. Bertrand Goujon, Lyon 

Capilla Flamenca, Leuven - www.capilla.be 
Lic. Mirella Marini, Bruxelles

Prof. dr. Wilhelm Janssen, Düsseldorf
Generaal-vlieger Guy van Eeckhoudt, Hamme-Mille

Prof. dr. Wim Blockmans, Leiden
De heer Michaël Schmidt, Bentheim, Emsland

Prof. dr. Karl Ferdinand Werner, Rottach-Egern
Lic. Christine Maes, Gent

Dr. Natalie Petiteau , Avignon

Prof. dr. Raoul Bauer, Leuven
Kapelaan Rainer Justen, Wershofen

Prof. dr. Heribert Müller, Frankfurt-am-Main
Prof. dr. Jean-Marie Duvosquel, Brussel

Prof. dr. John Everaert - Prof. dr. Eddy Stols, Gent-Leuven
Lic. Bart Minnen, Leuven


Members of the scientific committee of the Arenberg prizes:

Prof. Dr. Wim Blockmans, Gent - Leiden, Chairman
Prof. Dr. Claude-Isabelle Brelot, Lyon II - Paris
Prof. Dr. Jean-Marie Cauchies, Bruxelles
Prof. Dr. Hilde De Ridder-Symoens †, Gent
Dr. Elodie Lecuppre-Desjardins, Lille
Prof. Dr. Matthias Müller, Mainz
Marquis Olivier de Trazegnies, Corroy-le-Château
Prof. Dr. Thomas Weber, Aberdeen
Prof. Jeroen Duindam, Leiden
Prof. dr. Marija Wakounig, Wien
Prof. dr. Beatrice de Graaf, Utrecht

Palais des Académies, Brussels

Palais des Académies, Brussels


Past Activities

14 November 2014

XIIth Prizes for History "Duke d'Arenberg"

This year's laureates are Sander Berghmans and Christopher Clark.

read more >

History Prizes "Duke d'Arenberg" Prizes

23 November 2012

XIth Prizes for History "Duke d'Arenberg"

Opening words by minister of State Mark Eyskens and prof. dr Hilde De Ridder - Symoens, chair of the Awards Committee.   Presentation of the work by Peter Winzen, “Im Schatten Wilhelms II. Bülows und Eulenburgs Poker um die Macht im Kaiserreich”, SH Verlag, 2011 by prof. Thomas Weber. Speech by laureate

read more >

History Prizes "Duke d'Arenberg" Prizes

5 November 2010

Xth Prizes for History "Duke d'Arenberg" & Conference ‘Russia-Europe, a partnership for the future ?’

Award of the Prizes for History "Duke d'Arenberg" combined with a conference about ‘Russia-Europe, a partnership for the future ?’ Symposium and Conference organised in partnership by the Arenberg Foundation, the Katholieke Universiteit Leuven (KUL) and the Université Catholique de Louvain (UCL) with the Chamber of Commerce of Belgium- Luxembourg for Russia and Belarus

read more >

Conferences & seminars History Prizes "Duke d'Arenberg" Prizes

19 September 2008

IXth Prizes for History "Duke d'Arenberg"

Palais des Académies - Paleis der Academiën, Brussels. Winners: Dr. Thomas Weber for: Our Friend "The Enemy"; Dr. Bertrand Goujon for: Entre cosmopolitisme, insertions nationales et ancrages locaux, l'aristocratie au XIXe siècle: La Maison d'Arenberg

read more >

History Prizes "Duke d'Arenberg" Prizes

13 September 2006

VIIIth Prizes for History "Duke d'Arenberg"

Laureates of 2006: Capilla Flamenca, Mirella Marini. Conference by the president of the European Commission, Dr. Barroso

read more >

History Prizes "Duke d'Arenberg" Prizes